Why applying makeup with brushes is better than sponges!

Hi everyone!! Hope your week is going well! So for today’s topic I wanted to talk about makeup brushes. Specifically about why I use makeup brushes to apply my makeup as oppose to sponges or my hands. I still use sponges and my hands for certain things like my primer and for blending but I mainly use my brushes. There’s a few reasons why so let’s start talking about why!

-Brushes don’t absorb as much makeup as your sponges and hands do
-They last longer
-They’re easier to clean than sponges
-It’s the most sanitary way to apply your makeup
-There are so many different brushes that help you achieve so many different looks while sponges and your hands can’t achieve the same look
-They’re so pretty!! ๐Ÿ˜‰
IMG_8779Now let’s break these down and talk a little more in detail…

Anything liquid absorbs into your hands and your sponges much more than they do your brushes. So you lose so much more product and waste a lot of product. There fore you waste your money.

Sponges really are a one time use thing but if you are like the rest of us you have one that you love and use every time you apply your makeup. Sponges not all only absorb your makeup they can also hold bacteria. You should be cleaning your sponges at least once a week and tossing them after a months use. Brushes can go years before having to be replaced.

Cleaning your sponges can be a pain. You never really know if it’s clean and it takes forever to dry. In the past I’ve noticed I’m too rough when I clean my sponges so it ends up tearing a little. My brushes don’t tear. What you can do is stock up on your favorite sponges so you can replace them when needed. My favorite sponges are from Crown and Sephora. When I went to the Beauty Show this year the sponges that are normally priced at 7 were only 5. I grabbed one and instantly regretted it because I had forgotten how much I love these sponges. So then I was going to order some more online but then I saw on HauteLook that they had them on there, on sale, for 5 bucks as well! So I got super excited and stocked up.

IMG_8781

This is what I use when I apply translucent powder for baking. This is from Crown Brush.

Back to sponges holding bacteria… Think about it. Your hands grab the sponge. Then the sponge goes on your face. You might as well apply your makeup with your hands. Your hands could be so dirty without you realizing it and you could spread the bacteria from your hand to your sponge to your face. Using brushes you don’t ever touch the bristles. You hold them by the base so your brush stays as clean as possible. Think about where you store your sponge when you’re not using it. A lot of people throw it in their makeup bag and it just gets tossed around with all your other makeup that I’m sure you’re not sitting at home and wiping each tube or palette down.

Brushes come in so many different variations and types it’s nice to be able to pick and chose your own brush line for yourself. Most my brushes are Crown and Morphe but I have a few others that I can not live without. I like that you can buy sets of individuals of whatever it is you’ll need. For example, I use my eyebrow brush every single day so I would need to replace that once it starts wearing down and losing its shape. Because I use it everyday, I’d have to replace it much quicker than my eyeshadow brush because I barely wear eyeshadow therefore barely use those brushes. But when I do apply eyeshadow or my brows or my lipstick there are so many brushes out there that can help me apply them perfectly. I can’t apply any of that with my sponge or hands.
With having so many different brush options out there why not get as much as you can? Especially if you’re planning on doing others makeup. You’ll want to have many of the same brush, like foundation brushes for example. You won’t have time to clean and wait for it to dry when you’re doing multiple people’s makeup in one day. You may also find that you like the way duo fiber works as oppose to synthetic hairs, etc. There’s sooo many types of hairs used and so many different brands for you to chose from. So many different designs too, I got some brushes from SOHO because they came out with a Disney Princess and Disney Villain line and let’s be serious even if the brushes sucked ass, I still needed them in my life. To my surprise the brushes aren’t bad! I was using the brow and contour brush every day till it wore down on me. They’re adorable, work well, and are inexpensive.

IMG_8780

Look at how adorable these Princess/Villain brushes are from SOHO.ย 

All of the brushes I have, I don’t consider them to be very expensive. I did get a lot of them during a sale or while at the beauty show but even regular price they’re anywhere from $5-$15 a piece. I have a contour set from Morphe that was $22 on sale and a full brush set from Crown for $10 on Hautelook. TEN BUCKS for a whole set!!! How could I pass that up? I haven’t tried very many other brush brands but I can honestly stand behind these two companies with their brushes. I use them everyday and love the finished look they help me achieve. They’ve lasted me over a year now and still have the same shape.

I also recently just bought a knock off version of the round makeup brushes from artรญs. I spent $40 on Amazon with shipping as oppose to $300 plus on the artรญs ones. I normally don’t buy knock off/super cheap things when it comes to brushes and a few other beauty products because I believe that when it comes to brushes it’s really quality over quantity. I decided to try this brand from Amazon anyways because the reviews I read were really positive and I read from more than one review that the person had both sets and truly liked the Amazon one better than the artรญs one. I figured it’d be worth a shot! Let me tell you I looove the set I got from Amazon which is from a brand called SanCan. I’ve never heard of this brand but these brushes have not let me down. I haven’t bought or tried the other brand and I probably never will because I can buy a lot of makeup with $300 lol. With this set I haven’t tried any of the smaller ones for your eyes yet but the ones for your face I absolutely love and use daily.

FullSizeRender (13)
I hope this helps you guys understand why it’s better to use brushes and I hope you start using brushes if you already don’t ๐Ÿ™‚ and please don’t forget to clean your brushes!!! If you need help on how go read my blog about it:ย Brush Cleaning 101 !ย Thanks for reading everyone!!!

xoxo, Ticha!

5 thoughts on “Why applying makeup with brushes is better than sponges!

  1. Pingback: Is the Beauty Blender really worth it?? | glamour with ticha

Leave a Reply

