Benzoyl Peroxide VS. Salicylic Acid

Happy Thursday guys!! 🙂 hope you’re having a great week so far. So today’s topic is ACNE. Not so much breakout like we talked about in: How I got rid of my breakout in less than a week!

But more so spot treating that one or two pimples that came out of no where. It can be very annoying to wake up to! I typically have pretty clear skin so when a giant zit comes out of nowhere in the middle of my cheek or forehead I get super frustrated and start spot treating like its my job!

What is spot treating? Spot treating is when you treat a specific area/spot of your face as oppose to your whole face.

Ever since I was younger and started dealing with acne I was using Clean and Clear and Clearasil. To this day I still use some of their products. I use a benzoyl peroxide from Clean and Clear (creamy thicker consistency) and a salicylic acid from Clearasil (gel consistency). On top of those two products I also use a leave on gel exfoliator from Bioelements. It contains salicylic acid as well.

So how do you know which is meant for you? Which will help get rid of the little creature on your face? (I call my pimples little creatures) Well here is where I hope I can clear this up for you!
image2 (1)
If your acne is underground, meaning there is barely a whitehead, or nothing to close to nothing to pop (even though you shouldn’t be popping, but I know we all do), if that’s the case then benzoyl peroxide would be your best bet. Sometimes these underground pimples will seem very hard to touch and kinda hurt as well. The reason benzoyl peroxide is best to treat these types of pimples is because it can penetrate your pores deeply. It gets inside the pore and kills the bacteria causing acne and inflammation. However, it can be very drying because it exfoliates the dead skin so don’t over use this product!

If your acne is red and inflamed, or a closed comedone (whitehead/pustule, think pus, whiteheads have pus, gross but good to know) then salicylic acid is your go to! It exfoliates to remove dead skin cells inside the pore and also the surface of the skin. It’s also anti-inflammatory so it helps reduce redness. If you’re sensitive this product is also great for you. Again, don’t over use this product either! This product is best used in something like a toner or gel like I have, when it’s in the cleanser it’s just not left on the skin long enough to be effective.

To simplify:
Benzoyl peroxide = deep underground acne
Salicylic acid = acne on the surface

If you get the occasional pimple or two every so often these two products are great to have in your bathroom to spot treat with. Don’t stress out and go buy all these expensive acne treating cleansers and masks. That stuff is meant for those who have consist breakouts and are battling acne everywhere and everyday. All those products will do for you is dry your skin out. No one wants that either.

I have personally used both types of treatment and they work really well for me. I have been using my leave on exfoliator from Bioelements more than anything else. I use this on my forehead almost every night and on any random pimples I get because I have these stubborn little creatures that are so small but really do add a difference in the way my skin looks texture wise. At least to me it does, so I noticed out of the three products the leave on exfoliator containing salicylic acid keep them from getting any bigger or any more popping up. Another great thing to help with spot treating is using a sulfur mask! Sulfur helps speed up the process of getting rid of your acne. Caution, it does smell awful so use carefully!
image1 (1)
Aside from spot treating don’t forget about the other ways you can do to help clear up and keep clear. Changing your pillow cases, taking off all your makeup, washing your face at least twice a day, not touching your face, washing your hands before you wash your face, keeping your hair out of your face when you can, the list goes on and on. Remember to do these and your skin should stay pretty clear! These are things that I do to help maintain healthy skin, they aren’t just myths 😉

And for you burly men who don’t like to talk about skin but are wondering what will help, these products will help you the same way they help anyone else. That’s why I love skin care so much. Because it’s so universal. It’s meant for ANYONE dealing with whatever they’re dealing with. My blog isn’t just for women, it’s for anyone who is kind enough to read and wants a little help 🙂

I hope this helped clarify the difference! Thanks for reading guys!!

xoxo, Ticha!

2 thoughts on “Benzoyl Peroxide VS. Salicylic Acid

Leave a Reply

