How I got rid of dandruff in one shower!

Hello again  and happy Thursday! For today’s post I’ll be talking about an issue I was dealing with. I had a really dry and itchy scalp. Like really really itchy (no, it was not lice) I had never had a problem with itchy scalp growing up unless it had been a week or so of not washing my hair, I only wash my hair once to twice a week to begin with. But even then it wasn’t bad.

The reason I only wash my hair once or twice a week is 1. I’m super lazy– it takes me 30-40 mins to wash and rinse out my hair, my arms get tired 2. I don’t need a wash every other day 3. I color my hair frequently and don’t like it fading in the shower. My hair is extremely thick so it takes awhile to start showing oil and when it does I usually just load half a can of dry shampoo onto my scalp lol. Maybe that’s why my scalp is getting itchy? Too much dry shampoo on one targeted area, not enough moisture going into my hair and scalp? Not sure. But I know I will be continuing this little concoction and doing moisturizing hair masks more frequently.

image1 (3)

I used Edens Garden but any brand of tea tree oil will work.

A couple of months ago I noticed dandruff. It was small and light but having dark hair it was noticeable. I used my boyfriends Selsun Blue shampoo and although it helped with the dandruff, it smelled awful. Like cardboard. I had to wash my hair again with my shampoo cause the smell bothered me so much. So I never used it again.

The dandruff slowly went away and I forgot all about my problem. Well last week, my scalp was really itchy. Probably the worst it’s ever been. I was curious but not enough to look into it. That is until i woke up Saturday with huge chunks of dandruff all on the top of my head where I had been itching. I’m sure me scratching away at my scalp didn’t help at all with dandruff. I freaked out and instantly started searching for home remedies. I always saw mixing in oils with your shampoos but I wanted something a little more.

image2 (3)I found mixing baking soda, tea tree oil, and your shampoo did the trick! My scalp was no longer itchy after and hasn’t been till today again. But today is very mild. I used that mixture on Monday, it’s now Thursday, so the slight itchiness might be a sign that it’s time to wash my hair, again, I’m not too sure what’s causing this.

So this is not a permanent fix, but it surly is a quick fix! Here’s the recipe:
-1 teaspoon of baking soda
-2 drops of tea tree essential oil
Mix into your usual amount of shampoo, shampoo and rise as normal. A little tip, I mixed it all into a small bowl including my shampoo, it was much easier to stir it all together than if I were to try and blend it all in my hand.

Now it does make your shampoo not lather as much so it’s hard to spread around your scalp. It’s also kinda hard to rinse it all out but make sure you do and you’ll have no problems!

The reason why it works is because baking soda is a mild abrasive that cleans the scalp from bacteria and dead skin cells. Which is what causes the itchiness. The tea tree oil helps because of its anti fungal properties. It’s like exfoliating the dead skin cells off your face, but instead for your scalp.

Welp, this worked for me so hopefully it’ll work for you guys if you are experiencing dry and itchy scalp. Thanks for reading!

xoxo, Ticha!

Leave a Reply

