Is the Beauty Blender really worth it??

Happy Thursday guys! Today’s topic will be the $20 Beauty Blender! Is it really worth $20Β  when there are 103838202 other versions of it for $5? The answer is YES!!!!

I have tried a few other sponges that I really liked and some I didn’t like. My favorite ones aside from the BB, are Sephora’s brand and one from Crown. I’ve been dying to try the new one from Morphe but it’s out of stock every time I look! 😦

image2 (4)

Left: Crown Middle: BB Right: Sephora

I used to think there is no way I’m spending that much money on a sponge!! That I would have to replace after a few months! But let me tell you, when you need retail therapy you just grab anything your heart desires. I picked up my first BB and my first thought was “wow, this is incredibly soft”. Which is a MUST for sponges, at least to me.

The BB blends in my concealer so flawlessly. In my previous posts:Β Why applying makeup with brushes is better than sponges!Β I have talked about how it’s better to use a brush than sponge for makeup application…I still stand by that, but for foundation. My minds been changed when it comes to concealer. I use a very creamy and thick concealer making it pretty easy to use more than needed. Which then lead me to use more setting powder to help absorb the excess makeup. With the BB I feel like it absorbs the excess makeup leaving the perfect amount of makeup on my face.

That being said, I then use less setting powder. Which gives me less of a chance of having that unfortunate white under eye look that many girls have when they “over bake” and take pictures. You all know what I’m talking about πŸ˜’ No one wants that!

So now I use the BB for my concealer and to set my concealer. I don’t like using it for my foundation as I still feel like it absorbs too much makeup before hitting my face. I end up using way more foundation than needed because of the absorption. So I’ll stick to brushes for foundation, and use my BB to conceal.

How I use my Beauty Blender is by getting it pretty wet, ringing out the access water, then blending out my concealer. You want to make sure your sponge isn’t too wet, it should be nice and damp though. It really changes the way everything applies and blends out.Β I also use my damp BB for liquid highlighters. It works really well blending everything without leaving patchy marks behind.
image1 (4).JPG
To clean it is so simple, I used my baby soap wash and clean my BB. It’s gentle and gets rid of all the makeup on the sponge. For storage I keep it in its original container but without the cap. I didn’t want to keep the cap on it because I use it damp, you never want to trap anything wet. Like when your clothes sit in the washer too long and smell bad. If you are going to use a sponge for anything make sure you’re cleaning it at least once a week so bacteria doesn’t grow and build on it.Β I also feel like the Beauty Blender is sturdier than most other sponges. I’ve ripped a few sponges by washing them but I haven’t had any issues with the BB.

 

 

So in my honest opinion, the $20 sponge is so worth it. I also love the tear drop shape sponges so maybe I’m a tad bit biased. If you haven’t bought one yet, you need to!!! Thank you for reading!

xoxo, Ticha!

2 thoughts on “Is the Beauty Blender really worth it??

Leave a Reply

